Trustees are elected by the ASO Membership and serve a three year term. Vacancies are advertised to the Membership when they become available and an online ballot is run if nominations exceed the number of vacancies.

If you wish to contact a Trustee, please email the ASO Office.


Dr Nerys Astbury

Research Fellow
Senior Research Fellow, Nuffield Department of Primary Card Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Professor Rachel Batterham

Professor of Obesity, Diabetes and Endocrinology
University College London Centre for Obesity

Dr Maria Bryant

Senior Research Fellow
Nutritionist and Methodologist at the Leeds Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Leeds

Mr Ken Clare

Director of Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery Services
Obesity UK

Professor Graham Finlayson

Chair of Communications, Partnership and Networks Committee
Associate Professor at the School of Psychology, Faculty of Medicine & Health, University of Leeds

Dr Nicola Heslehurst

Lecturer/NIHR Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Senior Lecturer in Maternal Nutrition and NIHR Advanced Research Fellow at Newcastle University; Co-lead for the Early Life and Adolescence Programme in Fuse (The Centre for Translational Research in Public Health).

Dr David Hughes

Consultant Diabetes, Endocrinology & Bariatric Medicine
East Midlands Institute of Bariatric Medicine (Royal Derby Hospital)

Mr Patrick Mcginley

Head of Costing & SLR, Maidstone & Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust
Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Dr Alex Miras

Senior Lecturer Endocrinology
Endocrinology and Obesity Medicine at Imperial College London

Dr Rebecca Richards

Postdoctoral Research Associate and Practitioner Health psychologist
University of Cambridge

Dr Kath Roberts

Programme Manager Public Health England
Registered Nutritionist; Programme Manager, Public Health England; Honorary Lecturer in Public Health, University of Sheffield

Professor R James Stubbs

Professor Of Appetite And Energy Balance
Professor of Appetite, Energy Balance, University of Leeds